Working Hard to Rebuild our National Security, Improve Economic Opportunity & Protect our Constitutional Liberties

Press Releases

Flores Announces 2017 TX-17 Congressional Veteran Commendation Recipients

f t # e
WACO, Texas, November 11, 2017 | Andre Castro (202-225-6105) | comments

Today, U.S. Representative Bill Flores (R-Texas) announced this year’s recipients of the TX-17 Congressional Veteran Commendation, a unique award given to local veterans for their admirable service to our nation and community.

“I am humbled to represent a district with such a large veteran population and I am honored to announce that this year we are awarding 15 deserving and exemplary veterans with the TX-17 Congressional Veteran Commendation. In addition to selflessly serving our nation, these veterans have continued their service to help better our communities. It is fitting that these acknowledgements be made on Veterans Day, a day in which we pay tribute to the selfless military men and women who answered the call to serve our great nation.” Congressman Flores stated.

Flores started annually awarding local veterans with the TX-17 Congressional Veteran Commendation in 2012 to coincide with Veterans Day. The veterans who receive this commendation are nominated by local constituents in recognition of both their military service and service to their respective communities. Recipients of the commendation receive a special commemorative challenge coin, a certificate of recognition and a flag flown over the U.S. Capitol in their honor on Veterans Day. The military service of the 2017 TX-17 Congressional Veteran Commendation recipients span over 65 years, from the Korean War to the ongoing War on Terror.

“The tradition of awarding deserving veterans with this commendation is something that I look forward to each year. It is important that we recognize the sacrifices our military men and women have made for our freedom and liberties, as well as for our local communities,” Flores added.

2017 TX-17 Congressional Veteran’s Commendation recipients:

  • Claude Gary Blair of Bryan – U.S. Marine Corps; Vietnam War, 1969-1970
  • Jonathan Cassens of Bryan – U.S. Army; 1979-1985
  • Charles “Chuck” Clark of College Station – U.S. Marine Corps, U.S. Air Force Reserve and Texas Air National Guard; Iraqi Freedom and Enduring Freedom; 1995-2010
  • Luther G. Crum, Jr. of College Station – Korea and Vietnam Wars; 1955-1984
  • Robert B. Ellis of Bryan – U.S. Army; Vietnam War; 1964-1966
  • Larry E. Fikes of Bryan – U.S. Air Force Reserve and U.S. Army Reserve; Vietnam War; 1969-1995
  • Royce H. Hickman, Jr. of College Station – U.S. Army; 1964-1970
  • John Carl Hince of Bryan – U.S. Army; Vietnam War; 1969-1973
  • Everlyn White (Trate) Humphrey of Bruceville – U.S. Air Force; 1981-2001
  • Thomas Andrew Marty of College Station – U.S. Air Force; Lebanon and Grenada conflicts; 1981-1987
  • Caton O. Milstead of Bryan – U.S. Army; Bosnia and Kosovo conflicts, and Iraq War; 1995-2017
  • Charles J. Opersteny of Bryan – U.S. Air Force; Korean War; 1950-1954
  • Miguel Orozco of College Station – U.S. Army; Korean War; 1952-1954
  • Maurice Reyes Ramon of Waco – U.S. Army; Vietnam War; 1967-1971
  • Michael Lee Russell of Woodway – U.S. Army; Bosnia conflict and Iraq War; 1986-2010

Presentations of the commendations will take place on a date to be announced soon.




f t # e
Tags: Veterans

Connect with Congressman Flores on Facebook

Today, the House passed the Agriculture and Nutrition Act, which provides certainty for America’s farmers and ranchers, and helps take people out of poverty and get them to prosperity.

Connect with Congressman Flores on Twitter

RT @HouseCommerce: LIVE NOW: #SubEnvironment convenes hearing titled "Advanced Biofuels Under the Renewable Fuel Standard: Current Status a…

Outstanding Public Debt as of Jun 24, 2018 at 04:16 PM EST